Event

Room B

We will cover two Great Courses Lessons each meeting with a brief lesson, followed by 15 minutes of Q&A discussion. Then another lesson with a final 15 minute Q&A discussion. Join anytime and please register only the first time you attend and you will recieve a weekly reminder about the class.

The story of America’s founding—great men who debated, argued, persuaded, and negotiated their way to the U.S. Constitution—is as dramatic and instructive as any in the nation’s history. And there is no better way to tell the story of the Founding Fathers than by pairing an eminent U.S. historian with the very institution that is most synonymous with American history, the Smithsonian.

These men—Washington, Jefferson, Madison, Hamilton, and many others—are larger than life in our collective memory, having near-mythical status. Similarly, The U.S. Constitution is the oldest continually-operating instrument of government anywhere in the world serving as the backbone to the world’s most powerful democracy. Yet, few among us realize just how turbulent, contentious, even suspenseful the process was to draft and ratify it. That’s why The Great Courses and Smithsonian have joined forces to tell how this crucial drama in Western history unfolded.

Professor Allen C. Guelzo of Gettysburg College, whose Great Courses on U.S. history are among our most popular and highly rated, worked in close collaboration with the Smithsonian’s own curators of early American history to present a three-dimensional picture of the men who powered this unprecedented journey from colonies to nation and the resulting U.S. Constitution.


Facilitator will be Frank Schaddelee

Dates & Times:
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, April 13, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, April 20, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, April 27, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, May 4, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, May 11, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, May 18, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, June 1, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, June 8, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, June 15, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, June 22, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, June 29, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, July 6, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, July 13, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, July 20, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, July 27, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, August 3, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, August 10, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, August 17, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, August 24, 2020
9:30am - 11:30am, Monday, August 31, 2020
Location:
Meeting Room B
Campus:
MFP Library
Categories:
Adult, Civics

Registration is required. There are 25 seats available.

Event Organizer

Bethanie Corder